Waiting on Wednesday (5)

Today’s waiting on Wednesday is all about a brand new contemporary novel but the brilliant Jessica Brody. I may have already read an ARC but that doesn’t mean I’m not already totally excited about the book releasing this fall!


Title:
The Geography of Lost Things

Author: Jessica Brody – Website

Published By: Simon Pulse

Publishing Date: October 2nd, 2018

Pages: 320 pages

Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary

Summary:

In this romantic road trip story perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen and Morgan Matson, a teen girl discovers the value of ordinary objects while learning to forgive her absent father.

After Ali’s father passes away, he leaves his one and only prized possession—a 1968 Firebird convertible—to his daughter. But Ali doesn’t plan on keeping it. Not when it reminds her too much of all her father’s unfulfilled promises. So when she finds a buyer three hundred miles up the Pacific coast willing to pay enough money for the car to save her childhood home, Ali can’t wait to get going. Except Ali has no idea how to drive a stick shift. But guess who does?

Ali’s ex-boyfriend, Nico. And Nico has other plans.

He persuades Ali that instead of selling the car, they should “trade up” the items they collect on their trip to eventually reach the monetary amount Ali needs. Agreeing with Nico’s crazy plan, Ali sets off on a unique adventure that is unlike anything she ever could have expected.

And it’s through Ali’s travels, through the strangers she meets and the things that they value—and why they value them—that Ali eventually comes to understand her father and how his life may not have been as easy and carefree as she previously thought. Because just like the seemingly insignificant objects Ali collects, not everything is exactly as it appears.

Add on GoodReads

PreOrder Links:

Amazon / Barnes and Noble / Book Depository / iTunes / Kobo / GooglePlay

Why I’m Waiting:

To be fair, I’ve already read this book when I snagged a copy at YALLWest back in May but that doesn’t mean that I’m not waiting for a pretty new copy to come out in October and sit on my shelf. I adore Jessica and I adore her books so I’m always very excited when a new book releases. I’m especially excited when she puts out contemporary novels because I think they are just her best work. She has a way of really reaching into a young adult’s brain and capturing their emotions and their wants and hopes and needs and I always close one of her novels with satisfaction. Like I said, I already read it and already really liked it and I wanted to share it because I think all of you will like it too!

*******************

Support us on Patreon for only $1 a month to gain access to monthly exclusive interviews, ARC and signed book giveaways, reviews for books I DIDN’T like and more by following the link here. 

Share YOUR Nerd!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.